Event #17 - $1,500 H.O.R.S.E.
13 June 2011
Poker pro Aaron Stuery defeats bracelet-winner Michael Chow in the first HORSE event.
Aaron Stuery

Event: H.O.R.S.E.
Buy-in: $1,500
Entrants: 963
Prize pool: $1,300,050

Prizes Paid: 96

1st  Aaron Steury (United States) -- $289,283
2nd  Michael Chow (United States) -- $178,691
3rd  Adam Friedman (United States) -- $121,437
4th  Jonathan Tamayo (United States) -- $84,516
5th  Ron Ware (United States) -- $60,036
6th  Denis Ethier (United States) -- $43,512
7th  David Baker (United States) -- $32,150
8th  Paolo Compagno (Italy) -- $24,219

UK Finishes:

No British players cashed.

BBP Progress:

No Black Belt Poker players entered this event.

BBP Stats:

Cashes: 2
Winnings: $305,212


•   Aaron is a 24-year-old poker pro and self-described grinder, from Fort Wayne, Indiana.
•   He was third in chips heading into the final table.
•   Heads-up, he had more than a 4:1 lead..
•   Three-handed, Aaron made a "sick" call with queen high.
•   Runner-up Michael Chow won last year's $1,500 Omaha High-Low event.
•   Oddly, both Aaron and third place Adam Friedman are graduates of Indiana University.
•   Todd Brunson, David Bach, Layne Flack, Max Pescatori, David Chiu, & Allen Bari all cashed.
•   H.O.R.S.E. was played for the first time as a gold bracelet event at the 2003 WSOP.
•   The first WSOP H.O.R.S.E. tournament was won by Doyle Brunson.

Winner's Quotes:

“[Despite Black Friday], I was coming here anyway. Since I was 21, I have come here all four years. This is one of the softest WSOP fields. There are a lot of people who do not know what they are doing. As you would expect, Day 1 was easier, then Day 2 got a bit tougher, and then Day 3 was very tough. There were two gold bracelet winners, and David Baker, and Adam Friedman who are all good players.”

Image courtesy of wsop.com; words Nolan Dalla.

Return to Schedule/Results page...

Previous results:

Event 1 - Sean Drake
Event 2 - Jake Cody

Event 3 - Francesco Barbaro
Event 4 - Allen Bari
Event 5 - Eugene Katchalov
Event 6 - Harrison Wilder
Event 7 - Amir Lehavot
Event 8 - Sean Getzwiller
Event 9 - Matt Perrins
Event 10 - Geffrey Klein
Event 11 - Viacheslov Zhukov
Event 12 - David Diaz
Event 13 - Andrew Badecker
Event 14 - Tyler Bonkowski
Event 15 - Brian Rast
Event 16 - John Juanda

think this is
the nuts!